h1

Ketchup

June 7, 2009

It’s been a long time since I’ve written.  I think about it all the time and I’m fully aware I’ve stared nearly all the blog posts in the last year that way.  Life is too sweet to stop living long enough to write about it.

Duck turned 9!  I’m not sure how that happened, but it did.  He is a joy, a light, a puzzle, a mystery, a wonder, a yogi, a Comedy Central special.   Happy Birthday, Duck.  I love you!

Duckred,white, and blueTree

I’ve been doing a lot of inner work.  It’s changing my life, living yoga.  I’m really growing and living and breathing and having a great time getting to know me and my place in this world – and actually, the blessed emptiness (impermanence) of it all.  I’m finding a lot of wisdom in 24/7 Dharma.  Every day I spend an hour or so reading from it and a couple of CAL daily readers and journaling.  I sit in my favorite chair, I light a candle, I listen to inspiring music, and I dive into myself.  This practice alone has enriched my life beyond explanation and is one of my favorite parts of my day.

fav table

Yoga has changed my focus.  I no long focus on the status of my butt, hips, thighs, and belly and, instead, no focus on the status of my mind, breath, spirit, and soul.  It’s incredibly transformative!  Of course, that’s not to say that things haven’t changed physically.  I have Swami toes, my shoulders and arms are sculpted like you wouldn’t believe, and my legs are thick and strong.  One would think that spending all this time on the mat would lead to an incredibly tight and flat belly.  Not so much!  My belly is firm and strong and long, but it is also round!  All that breathing and control!  When I think of it, it makes perfect sense – the soul needs a vessel, the breath needs a home, the fire needs a pit.  It’s a part of me, it keeps my secrets.  Hi, Belly!

I rely on the use of a drishti a lot in my yoga practice.  A drishti helps me focus and keep my balance.  I realized yesterday that, although I don’t plan what I use as a drishti ahead of time, I almost always focus on nail heads.  They are plentiful on my deck, my favorite studio, but I can also find them (or a mark on the hardwood floor that covers a nail head) in an actual yoga studio.  They work so well for me – small point on which to put all my concentration and focus.  Once I saw this trend of mine, I realized the deep symbolism in it.  Nails are sharp, small, with one intention.  They keep things together, the withstand huge changes in pressure and environment and weather.  They are strong and necessary.  They are a very simple, modest, and yet essential thing.  Once you open your eyes, you cannot not see.

Leave a Reply

